Meeting in Munich 24th April 1969


COUNTRIES PRESENT: Canada, England, Ghana, Guernsey, India, Ireland, Jersey, Malta, Nigeria, Scotland, Wales, and by proxy, Ceylon

COUNTRIES NOT REPRESENTED: Australia, Guyana, Hong Kong, Jamaica, Kenya, Malaysia, Mauritius, New Zealand, Pakistan, Singapore, Trinidad and Uganda
(Views expressed by Australia, Guyana, Singapore and Trinidad were taken into consideration, in the absence of these countries.)

There was a full discussion of the problems involved in organizing a Commonwealth table tennis tournament, and it was unanimously agreed that such a tournament should be inaugurated. The following decisions were taken:

  1. The offer from Singapore to hold the first Commonwealth table tennis tournament was accepted, and Singapore are to be asked to run it in 1971,just prior to the World Championships, so that teams can travel to Singapore on the way to Japan.
  2. Similarly, Wales are to organize the second Commonwealth table tennis tournament in 1973, just prior to the World Championships in England.
  3. There are to be separate team events for men and women, based on Swaythling and Corbillon Cup system.
  4. The regulations for running the event are to be based on the relevant ITTF regulations.
  5. Prominent Commonwealth citizens are to be approached with a view to donating suitable trophies, not more than one trophy to come from any one country. These approaches are to be made through the relevant table tennis association.
  6. It was agreed to elect a steering committee to draw up all necessary regulations and conduct all the correspondence, and England were asked to provide the Chairman of the committee. Mr. Conrad Jaschke indicated that England were prepared to accept. Mr. Ramanujan agreed to act as the representative for Asia, and it was left to Mr. Jaschke to ascertain acceptable candidates in respect of Africa, Caribbean, Canada, and Australia or New Zealand, making a committee of six.

Return to the History Index

Comments are closed.